All the Good Ideas are Already Taken

Don’t you hate it when you come up with an incredible idea, but after a little bit of research, find out it’s already been done? That’s what just happened to my NaNoWriMo project.

I’ve been playing around with an idea for a book in my head for several years now, but I just never got around to it. When one of my friends signed up for NaNoWriMo this year, I joined too, undecided about what I’d write about but determined to go along for the ride.

After some thought and consideration I decided to finally put together the book I’d been thinking about so long. I got a few day into it, but then I found a book that was almost exactly what I intended to write. *mental forehead slap*

I won’t be giving up on NaNoWriMo, but I’ve definitely fallen behind. I’m going to spend the next couple of days refining my ideas so that I’ll produce something new to contribute to the conversation. I hope I can avoid too much last minute scrambling.

Are any of you all working on a NaNoWriMo piece? How’s it going?

Leave a Reply

