Getting Back into the Swing of Things

As part of the interview I did this past Saturday I made a little announcement, but I’d also like to share it here officially.

My first four albums focused on the saxophone. It was my primary instrument, so that made sense. With Behind Your Eyes, my fifth full length album, I moved in a completely different direction.

The album was mostly vocal – I play flute and sax on the record, but there is only one instrumental track on the entire album. I did it for a variety of reasons, but it was mostly because I wanted to explore that side of my songwriting and I wanted to see what I could do.

And I have to say, I’m quite happy with the result.

Considering the fact I wasn’t able to do much promotion for the album, it’s done reasonably well and it’s something I’m really proud of. But now I’m ready to do something new.

Now that I’ve been all over the map – way over here with jazz and saxophone and then way over there with pop and vocal music – I’m ready to find a balance between the two.

And as luck would have it, I’ve recently become a part of a new project that allows me to do just that.

So get ready – around May/June I’m going to have something exciting to share with you – it’s a mix of my smooth jazz and pop influences and it’s a collaboration project too.

By the way, have you checked out the latest version of Teen Jazz or my main website?

Leave a Reply

