Thank you KSBR 88.5 for the Wonderful Interview Opportunity

Earlier this morning I had a lot of fun doing a radio interview over at KSBR 88.5 with Garrison West where we talked about the new album, the upcoming album release parties and music, in general. I dragged (a hint … Continue reading

Performance of my new album, Behind Your Eyes

For those of you in Southern California…

I will be throwing a party to celebrate the release of my new album “Behind Your Eyes” on November 30, 2012 at Bella Collina Towne and Golf Club in San Clemente, CA.

The show will start at 6pm and will feature music from my new CD. There will be an intermission with a cd signing which will be followed by the second set. RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED, please call in advance to reserve your seat!

The new album features a collection of original instrumental and vocal pieces as well as the covers “Falling Slowly” and “Dead Man’s Party”.  You can check out sound clips on my web site.

Bella Collina is located at 200 Avenida La Pata, San Clemente, CA 92673.

To make reservations, please call 949-498-6604

For more information, please visit: or email Shannon.

I really hope to see you there!

Saying Thanks

Happy early Thanksgiving everyone (or as I jokingly call it at home – Fête de la Dinde) !  Here’s my personal list of 10 things that I am thankful for, hopefully I don’t miss anything too important!

  1. I am grateful for the ability to create and perform music.
  2. I am grateful for my loving and supportive family.
  3. I am grateful for my first Thanksgiving with my husband.
  4. I am grateful for my health.
  5. I am grateful for all of my friends and the talented musicians I’ve had the opportunity to work with.
  6. I am grateful for what this next year is going to bring.
  7. I am grateful for all the opportunities I have had and for those who gave me a chance.
  8. I am grateful for my husband’s family who are now my family too.
  9. I am grateful for the time that I have to do what I love.
  10. I am grateful for YOU and all of your support, feedback, reading, sharing, commenting and criticism. You are fantastic.

What are you thankful for this year?

The Official Release Announcement with Preview

Tomorrow marks the close of my Kickstarter campaign. Let’s celebrate it with the first album review and press release and a preview!

Also, if you wanted to pre-order the album but didn’t get around to it – you still have a few hours left!

Shannon Kennedy Behind Your Eyes
Press Release
Alicia M. Doyle,

With the long awaited release of her newest album, Behind your Eyes, Shannon Kennedy demonstrates that she has both the endurance and the innovation to remain relevant in today’s music world.

The process of recording Behind Your Eyes was begun in 2010 and over the last two years she has released three of the album tracks: Falling Slowing, No One to Catch Me and Only One, as singles.  Finalizing the project was put on hold when Shannon took some time to tour, to immerse herself in Celtic culture while earning a master’s degree at Queen’s College in Belfast, and to get married.  The completed album—her fifth since her debut in 2005—is a remarkably sophisticated and diverse collection of mostly vocal music, all of which was well worth the wait.

Established as a saxophonist in the world of music since an early age, this newest album clearly showcases her strength as a singer-songwriter.  With only one purely instrumental track (Falling Slowly) the songs are noticeably informed by her understanding of current European trends and her lifelong passion for acoustic folk music.  Several tracks feature European folk instruments and she includes songs in both French and English.  Contrasting these acoustic tracks are Only One and N’Importe Quoi wherein she explores contemporary Europop and electronic dance music styles.  In addition to the mostly new material on the album, the inclusion of her new interpretation of the enormously popular Dead Man’s Party (Oingo Boingo) is refreshing and unexpected.

The musicians who perform with Shannon on Behind Your Eyes are as progressive and eclectic as the music they recorded together.  A few musicians from her previous albums make appearances including Kurt Hamernick (drums), Spenser Bishop (drums), Thomas Drayton (bass), and John Gregorius (guitar).  New guests include a few musicians from Europe such as Ioannis Tsiolakis (keyboards) and U-Nam (guitar and bass).

Beyond the clear French and folk music inspiration, her lifelong passion for music, all music, is clearly evident on this album.  In Shannon’s work, she has internalized the influence of all the great artists she had the opportunity to discover before and while living in Europe.  As for the new vocal direction she is taking as an artist Shannon states “Singing and songwriting has opened up a lot of really great opportunities for me and I am so excited to share this new aspect of my musical identity with my friends and fans. It has been an amazing experience working on the music from this album and hearing it all come together.”

Behind your Eyes defies classification into any one genre.  Her use of timbres is deeply evocative, and the album as a whole is a cinematic marriage of jazz, pop, folk, and global music.  Clearly her own experience has deeply affected her understanding of the world and of music. This new perspective is readily apparent in her work as she demonstrates the ability to take risks and to challenge her abilities by exploring new artistic mediums.  This sentiment is captured in a line from a track on the new album, No One to Catch Me: “I’m not the kind of girl who falls this hard- especially when there’s no one to catch me.”  Here in a single phrase she has summed up the ideology of this album and of her future. Shannon can do anything she wants and she has demonstrated that she doesn’t need anyone to catch her as she can catch herself.

Shannon Kennedy will release “Behind Your Eyes” and to support the release, she will return to the stage touring December 2012 and throughout 2013.